Home » Whole30 » Recipes » Chunky Apple Chicken Salad (Whole 30 approved)

Chunky Apple Chicken Salad (Whole 30 approved)

CHUNKY APPLE CHICKEN SALAD

What you’ll need:

  • 3-4 chicken breasts, chopped
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 4 oz chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup homemade mayo (more or less to taste)
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
    I made this recipe because I had some homemade Whole30 approved mayo in my fridge.  Just google Whole30 mayo… you’ll find all of the tips and tricks that I did.  Ingredients in my mayo were only egg yolk, lemon juice and olive oil.  The secret ingredient is PATIENCE… add oil very slowly… I held the bowl and whisked by hand as my husband added the oil drip by drip.  You could also use a kitchen aid mixer.
    Start with letting marinated your chicken breasts – I used lemon juice, olive oil, salt & pepper. Let them sit in the fridge for 1/2 hour (longer if you have time!) before grilling them. I cut the breasts into smaller pieces prior to marinating.  I used low heat on our gas grill and ended up with this:
    After they cool down, cut up the chicken into small pieces.  Some of mine was almost shredded, but still lots of chicken chunks.
    In large mixing bowl, combine chicken, apple, green onion, and walnuts.  Add mayo – I use just enough to hold it all together – about 1/3 cup.  I’ve also used greek yogurt or a combo of both (when I’m not Whole30-ing). You could add a lot more veggies or fruit at this point as well.  I don’t think there’s a right or wrong answer – this is just the basics of what I use on a regular basis.  You could add grapes or peppers, hard-boiled eggs, celery, carrots, mustard… anything!  Just try it! 🙂
    Add seasonings and mix well.  Refrigerate for about an hour before serving, if you can stand it.  The salad is even better the next day when the flavors have melded together.
    Throughout the week, I enjoyed this chicken salad several ways.  As a snack on fresh cucumber slices; on romaine with tomato and cucumber for a crisp refreshing salad; and on some PureWraps – the curry flavored wraps are too, too, too good to be Whole30 approved! 🙂
    Store in a air-tight container, preferrably one as cute as mine… yellow with blue lining.  Should be good for 5-6 days… doubt it will last that long though!!
    My mother-in-law bought me this set of 4 cute microwave and dishwasher safe bowls for Christmas the first year that I was invited to their house for the holidays. Love. Them. (The bowls AND my in-laws!)

Leave a Reply

