Home » Uncategorized » Really?

Really?

As a matter of fact, yes, I put  makeup on before we headed to the Berbee Derbee to do the 5K run on Thanksgiving morning.  My hubby rolled his eyes at me, but it’s bad enough he has to see me without at least tinted moisturizer and mascara, I couldn’t subject the runners of the world to it on a day they’re supposed to have stuff to be THANKFUL for!

Check out those Turkey hats! I think they look more like something NAUGHTY, but they are turkeys.  There were alot of those, and several hilarious costumes that we spotted while we were running. The best was the siamese turkey – two women in one turkey costume… that made it a little difficult to run I bet!  Hubby and I didn’t dress up, but we’re considering the consequences of dressing up as a cowboy and indian next for next year.  PC? No.  Are we ever?  Not so much.

So, Hubby and I got up early on Turkey Day, drove to the other side of town and joined thousands of other people who also thought it was pretty smart to commit to a run the morning of the biggest meal of the year.  There was a 10k, a 5k, and a walk, and we were in the second wave of the 5K.  We watched the 10K group take off, and decided that next year that would be us.  We’re also going to do a half marathon on Hubby’s birthday.  His 40th birthday just so happens to fall on the same day as the Madison Mini 2013… a 13.1 run through the City.  I’m terrified.

That’s us, after the Derbee.  Rocking my “Be Strong” shirt from the Edge Fitness Be Strong Challenge.

The 5K was fairly easy, minus the craptastic hills that left me out of breath and with a charlie horse in my arse, and after getting through the 3.16 miles in 28 minutes, we felt free to indulge in all sorts of junk food.  I ran extra hard to “earn” a second piece of pie, however I was so full of OTHER Turkey Day treats that a second piece of pie was out of the question.

Ew, can ridges? That’s one item on the table that I didn’t partake in. Sick.

We enjoyed turkey day at his parents’ house where I didn’t have to cook or do dishes. Talk about things to be thankful for!  We then ended our day at Walmart.  Yup.  We were those people:

It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, despite waiting in a line for a couple of hot ticket items from 8:30 until they “went on sale” at 10pm… and then standing in another line – to get to the registers and pay for the goods – until 11:30.  We were outta there in time to check out Target.  Crazy shoppers!  Almost everyone that we encountered while in line were cheerful and good humored, so we actually kinda enjoyed losing 3 hours of our lives in that store.  PLUS we got the kids’ “big” presents off the list.  WOOT!

Leave a Reply

